Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Seminar: 10.19.10 / CREOL 102 & 103 / 2-3pm / "Attosecond Lightand Science at the Time-scale of the Electron - Coherent X-Rays fromTabletop Ultrafast

Seminar: "Attosecond Light and Science at the Time-scale of the Electron - Coherent X-Rays from Tabletop Ultrafast Lasers"
Tuesday, October 19, 2010 / 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Dr. Margaret Murnane
JILA/NIST and U. of Colorado

Extreme nonlinear optical techniques can upshift visible laser light into the soft x-ray region of the spectrum. This ability has given us a new coherent light source that spans a large spectral bandwidth, with pulse durations on sub-femtosecond or attosecond (1 as=10-18 s) and soon zeptosecond (1 zs=10-21 s) time-scales. Equally intriguing is the fact that we have learned how to use light to coherently manipulate electrons in atoms, molecules and materials on their fundamental timescales. The richness and complexity of attosecond science and technology is only just beginning to be uncovered. As I will discuss in this talk, attosecond science can capture the complex, coupled, dynamics of electrons in molecules and materials. Coherent x-rays also show great promise for nanoscale microscopy using new lensless imaging techniques.

Margaret Murnane is a Fellow of JILA and a faculty member in Physics and Electrical Engineering at the University of Colorado. She runs a joint, multi-disciplinary, research group jointly with her husband, Prof. Henry Kapteyn. She received her B.S and M.S. degrees from University College Cork, Ireland, and her Ph.D. degree from UC Berkeley. She remained at Berkeley for one year as a postdoctoral fellow, before joining the faculty at Washington State University in 1990. In 1996, Professor Murnane moved to the University of Michigan, and in 1999 she moved to the University of Colorado. Prof. Murnane with her students and collaborators use coherent beams of laser and x-ray light to capture the fastest dynamics in molecules and materials at the nanoscale.
She is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the Optical Society of America, and the AAAS. She was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2004, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2006. She was awarded a John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Fellowship in 2000. Margaret and Henry shared the 2009 Ahmed Zewail Award of the American Chemical Society, the 2010 Schawlow Prize of the American Physical Society and the 2010 R.W. Wood Prize of the Optical Society of America. Henry and Margaret also started a laser company to transfer their basic research to industry. Margaret is very interested in increasing diversity in science and engineering.

For More Information:

Dimitrios Mandridis
Tel: (407) 823-0200

No comments: